A Preparation of Impromptu Remarks


Brief Thoughts on Sleep and the Interruption of It
August 28, 2010, 4:19 pm
Filed under: Personal

I’m back in my dorm, attempting to survive the last year-and-some of formal education left on my “life agenda.” Really, it’s not that bad. I only make it that way because I feel like I’ve “been there, done that,” and have no desire to re-live the bonding, peppy years of early college-hood. As a thrice-transfer student I’m just ready to be independent of the floor activities, schedules, dorm life and various social and financial obligations that I find to be pointless and irksome. I also don’t feel like pretending to get excited about annoying music and dance parties (one of which just sprung to life in the lounge at this very moment). Katy Perry? Someone put me out of my misery.

Maybe I’ve always been a stick in the mud, though. Yep. It’s probably true.

But that is beside the point, and is not what I want to talk about this lovely evening. I want to talk about sleep and the sacredness of it – and how mad I get when someone carelessly rips that sacred and basic human right from me.

It happened last night. Again.

There have been times I can recall when I’ve wished for an aviation headset to wear to bed. Really. I have actually desperately longed for this “conventional” item in the early AM hours. Rescue. Something to put me out of my misery. I would do almost anything to have that clunky thing getting in the way of a truly comfortable sleep just to rest in blissful silence. I wished for this again briefly last night when the piercing, echo-locative shrieks of girls getting back from wherever-they-were ripped me from the reverie I had FINALLY drifted into. However, that longing quickly transformed into a more ragged emotion. Rage. When the shrill noises and carelessly loud conversation reached my eardrums, it didn’t take long. I became a roused mother bear who, in her delirium, just realized some stupid campers were ogling her baby cub. It didn’t matter that the campers meant my cub no harm. The point IS it’s NOT their cub. It’s mine. And I’m going to kill you. I mean, just let me sleep, darn it, or I will rip you in two.

That is a brief, tamed summary of what goes through my head at 2 AM, and the ensuing hours, when I am unable to fall back asleep. I know I’m not the only one who has such violent urges and thoughts. Don’t even try lying to yourself. I might be a jerk, but I do know when I’m mildly justified in my irritation.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yep…. don’t mess with my sleep either:)

Comment by Laurie




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

